Four new faces

The Students’ Association will be under new leadership May 1

Megan Sarrazin

news editor

After two years with the same executive council members representing students at Grant MacEwan University, four new faces have been elected to take charge of the Students’ Association (SA) starting May 1.

Last week’s elections had 1,759 students cast their votes to choose the candidates they wanted to see on executive council.

Taking position of president will be Eyobe Melketsadik, International Student Partnership Program coordinator, who believes he was elected because of his involvement in the MacEwan community.

“From people involved in clubs, my friends and classmates to the people I see everyday, they gave me so much support that I was able to make it this far,” said Melketsadik. “I was able to experience so much and meet so many great people that I feel that this is the difference that helped me grow and become the president.”

Melketsadik received more than 35 per cent of the vote, beating Daniel St. Pierre and Russel McQuatt.

To the students who voted for him, Melketsadik stresses, “I will put in everything I have, and then dig down and find more to give. I truly appreciate the support and I understand the commitment and responsibility I have to each of you.”

Kassie Russell, newly crowned member of Students’ Council, was elected as vice president operations and finance with close to 55 per cent of the votes, beating out councillors Shawn Dunington and Spencer Bennett.

“Win or lose in this election, I knew I was better off than when I came in,” said Russell. “I worked really hard during this election . . . I think hard work, a clear understanding of students concerns (and) needs, passion for change, and a support network of students that saw the same vision as me has afforded me this win.”

The new vice president academic is David Drohan, who beat out councillors Jed Johns and Joseph Kubelka with close to 46 per cent of the votes.

“I put forward a value-driven platform that spoke to issues students identify with,” said Drohan. “I think all of the (debates) surrounding the various platforms encouraged students to get involved, students that otherwise might not have paid attention to the election.”

“We only have a limited amount of time to work in anything we undertake; if we intend to maximize the total effect we have, we need to use every moment wisely,” added Drohan.

Rounding out executive council is Siao Yong, current Student Food Bank Coordinator, who beat Bentley Zohner with close to 58 per cent of the votes.

“I truly am passionate about being involved in the school,” said Yong. “I believe that university is more than just academics, it’s about getting involved.”

“I want to know what students feel the SA is lacking, or what events they want more of, what support they need for clubs. I’m excited to connect the SA with the students and listen to the students of MacEwan,” she added.

Voter turnout capped out this election with 15.74 per cent of eligible voters turning out to polls. For more on voter turnout, see page 4

Executive council members are responsible for directing the SA and will face reelection next year. They are only able to hold one position for a period of two years.

Executive council members are paid a $35,000 salary each year with full benefits. They are required to attend one course per semester, while working a minimum of 35 hours per week.

Leave a comment